Sometimes you just need to go.

I am now in the midst of the final push for this semester. I have a 40 page paper that needs to be written, but sometimes a distraction is needed. That distraction happened to come in the form of traveling to Venezia (Venice) for last weekend. Was this the most planned excursion? Not at all, but planning has never been my strongest ability when it comes to traveling. Was the hostel one of the worst I have seen? Yes, yes it was (which is why I am not allowed to choose hostels anymore..ever). But my friend and I decided that Venezia would be a great place to run to before the paper grind began….and we were right. The weather was perfect. The trip was smooth. The food was great. I cannot even begin to describe how Venezia has been the best city I have traveled to in Italy. Image

While it was just a short weekend trip, I am very grateful that I was able to go. We learned that seeing the city at night was the best (especially since Carnivale had ended) because there were no crowds. Which may have lead to me living out one of my dreams of singing and dancing in the street (of course crowds of choreographed strangers did not join in). It was a great place to relax and just enjoy the moment….and the moment was molto bella.

Image

 

Image

 

While I was sad to leave, it was one of the best trips I have been lucky enough to go on during this semester. Having never traveled to Italy (or Europe), this has been a great way to open my eyes of how much there is to see in the world.

Leave a comment